Poets logo

VERSE; from one of the favorite song

A sad verse from the song I was never there by The Weekend it just hits me hard

By Eshna Eman Published about a year ago 1 min read
1

SONG: I WAS NEVER THERE

SINGER: THE WEEKEND

MY WORDS

I drink the poison once again,

To numb the pain that never ends,

The bitter taste I know too well,

A self-inflicted living hell.

I gulp it down and feel the burn,

As it courses through my veins in turn,

And slowly but surely takes control,

Over my mind and my soul.

I poison myself again and again,

Until I feel nothing, not even pain,

But in this numbness, I am lost,

A shell of a person, with no cost.

The world around me fades away,

As I slip into the dark abyss each day,

And all that's left is the poison's grip,

As it drags me down into its pit.

But even as I feel it taking hold,

I cannot stop, I am too far gone to be bold,

For in this poison, I find escape,

From the pain that I cannot reshape.

So I drink and drink until I'm numb,

Hoping that one day, the pain will succumb,

But until then, I'll keep on drinking,

The numbing poison, without thinking.black hole.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Eshna Eman

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.