Poets logo

Venus on Earth

Time for a Plutonian shift

By Tanner PeifferPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

M y eyes are like stained glass crafted in New Mexico

Pencil sketches dripping over watercolor lines

Pupils ablaze with the sparkle of vertigo

Exploding ocean naval mines

Neck with the taste of ambrosia

Words like honey and nectar, divine

Goddesses envy the hypno-controller-

Flashing a grin and the Gods are mine

***

I’m a Venus on Earth with Mercury poisoning

My Neptune head in the clouds, again

Drifting away from structured Saturn to let

A Plutonian shift begin;

Expanding Jupiter's empire

With a Mars-passion flare for rebelliousness

Boosted by the inventive desires

Of creative whirlwind Uranus

***

Now it’s time for assumptions to go down the gutter

Of this bronze-plated residential street

Regaining control from the windswept summer

As the leaves fade into an auburn bleed

It’s a night for perceptions to change for the better

Or worse, if the liquor dissolves my teeth

But I’m shifting the mood of my scarlet letter

From a symbol of shame to a laurel wreath

***

And so it goes one for the money, two for the show

Three for the haters and four for the hoes

Five nights with the sinister six in the snow

Finding seventh- level heaven in a Swiss chateau

And the 88th key will be the first to know

That I started playing ages ago

***

Now I pilot cloud nine in the Broadway lights

I t's a ten out of ten on Saturday nights

And so it goes one for the money, two for the show

Gliding on that water like row, team, row!

***

I’m a Venus on Earth with Mercury poisoning

My Neptune head in the clouds, again

Drifting away from structured Saturn to let

A Plutonian shift begin-

***

My eyes are like stained glass crafted in New Mexico

Pencil sketches dripping over watercolor lines

Pupils ablaze with the sparkle of vertigo

Exploding ocean naval mines

Neck with the taste of ambrosia

Words like honey and nectar, divine

Goddesses envy the hypno-controller-

Flashing a grin and the Gods are mine…

artsurreal poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.