Poets logo

Vent Level 5

Disclaimer: This is my Ego speaking. My Higher Self knows that All Is Well.

By Justin BlackPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photograph by Justin Black

Thank god for poetry

For words un governed

You cannot censor my fingertips

There are no syllables

In need of being replaced

No political ally do we need

To be put down

Creation is reflection

And this is my own

Calling myself a woman

Because i want to

Even when I'm a man

My spirit knows the body

Is a blessing with hands

Just a vessel, a ship

A perfume bottle on a table

In a movie where someone's mother died

I have never known a vanity in real life

But i have taken offense

And watched the sadness fly

The rage passed one face to another

We're trying to get by

Don't tell me what to call myself

I can do whatever I want

Have you ever stopped to consider

That you stole our name,

Redefined it, and told us we are vile

We are saints passing rites

We are unbroken lines

Bleeding copiously and your masculinity

Still pushes us back

From behind your hands

Your mouth shouting injustice

And look at us, look at us,

Begging, you have taken enough

You have taken enough already.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Justin Black

I write mostly poetry that flows from feelings, and I enjoy accidental and intentional rhyme.

All photographs are my own

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.