Poets logo

vanity

an acrostic

By Kayleigh Fraser ✨Published 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
16
vanity
Photo by Wyron A on Unsplash

villain of my story

and delusional hero of yours

now obsessively vying for attention in desperation to be remembered

i bet you think this poem’s about you, don’t you?

tragic that you fail to understand just how effortlessly erasable aphantasia made you

your name is all that’s left, an occasional stain on my memory

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

Inspired by Carly Simon’s classic You’re So Vain.

Did you know Mick Jagger sang the backing vocals on this? He was also rumoured to be the inspiration for the song but Carly never confirmed who it was about.

Her self absorbed, conceited muse remains a mystery!

slam poetryhumor
16

About the Creator

Kayleigh Fraser ✨

philosopher, alchemist, writer & poet with a spirit of fire & passion for all things health & love related 💫

“When life gives you lemons,

Know you are asking for them.

If you want oranges, focus on oranges”

🍊🍋💥🍋🍊

INSTAGRAM - kayzfraser

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 7 months ago

    Ooh this is awesome. I love how empowering your poems are! ‘I bet you think this poem’s about you, don’t you?’ Made me smile. Now I need to go listen to You’re so Vain again

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    BRILLIANT work Kayleigh! The Aphantasia line was a stroke of genius!

  • Whoaaaaaa! This was awesomeeee! Now I wish I have aphanthasia too, lol. I would love to erase some people!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Ask anyone, they'll tell you - I love a good acrostic and this is a great acrostic, so I love this! Love that you used that song for inspiration. I know of at least three guys that the song could equally be about and is supposed to be about. Anyway, well done, Kayleigh, as usual you rocked it!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Very inventive, using a song for inspiration and it turned out great! Thanks for sharing.

  • Test8 months ago

    I loved "delusional hero of yours," sums it all up really, how people can go through life with such terrible behavior toward others yet think they're ok. Nicely written acrostic 💙Anneliese

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    I won't say who I thought this was about, at first lol. Won't stir the pot. On a side note: I love this. You did a great job. You're So Vain is one of my favorite songs to listen to

  • Alivia Varvel8 months ago

    So well written! I love that song ❤️

  • Test8 months ago

    WOW! Hard hitting and beautifully acerbic! Loved the acoustic format too. As well as the song inspiration - great poem for a great song! 🤍

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    OMG this isn’t about me???? How could you!!! Well written! I love this piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.