Poets logo

use to be my town

homesick

By Tracy CooperPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
use to be my town
Photo by Boxed Water Is Better on Unsplash

aboard a paratransit bus

just left my doctor

expected to go right home

we had to pick up a another rider

on the way

took in scenery

saw some of my old neighborhood

nostalgic but good

bustling

northwest

museum

parks

and old brick houses still standing

I was actually part of this

community

i lived in another city

for over two decades

although now changed

it is still the same

nature abounding

beauty in a city

now a sixteen miles away

in another town

memories

come back

they flood me

feel I want to return

maybe emotions are overtaking me

making me sorry I had to leave

but life occurs

you live to learn

but this I yearn

disabled

yet somewhat able

the city

on this side

is thriving

and now in reality

it is just a memory

pleasantries

communities

where I really want to be

oh why can't it be

I want to have an address here

this place I hold so dear

the images do not disappear

I have them each time I come here

this used t0 be my town

homesick

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.