Poets logo

Us

Free verse poem

By ChickadeePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Time fades away,

minutes and hours melt into each other

like the sun sinking into the horizon.

Humor encapsulated as inside jokes

induces belly-aching laughter and

non-stop smiles from us both.

Is it wrong to adore someone so much, so soon?

Are our words meaningless in this case?

Or do they fill your cup as much as yours do mine?

My imagination runs wild,

igniting daydreams where I find you in my arms

Always.

Future memories flash through my imagination

of us holding hands by the river;

of us hiking through lush forests,

while fireflies light our path through the trees;

of us falling back into bed, wrapped up in each other,

while relishing each delightful & unequivocal of

right now.

One night, I mentioned how it’s okay with me that

we haven’t met in person yet,

because I know what it’s like to miss someone so much

that your heart aches in your chest.

I know what it’s like to have overwhelming doubts

of the undetermined future.

And I know what it’s like living inside the unknown,

with only the awareness of how much we miss

each other.

This morning, I realized that I would rather miss you,

and yearn for you, and dream about you,

than live countless lifetimes lacking the conscious

knowing that

someone exactly like you

exists out there in this cosmic void.

Before the summertime even began,

before the earth bloomed and displayed its’ beauty

once again,

I settled completely into the fierce determination of embracing

my solo journey on this planet.

Little did I know that when I released

all thought & control surrounding

this state of mind,

a path appeared.

And there you were,

standing in all of your astonishing light.

You walked towards me, stopping only a foot away

and cocked your head to one side,

as if to say all along,

“Here I am, what took you so long?”

I imagine that I would take my hands and

place them in yours,

while gazing into your dazzling eyes,

and the only words that would escape my lips are,

“Oh, you found me.

You found us.”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Chickadee

Novice free verse poet and writer.

Loves include but are not limited to: music, books, video games, the beach, etc..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.