Poets logo

Uppity Cindy:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Uppity Cindy:
Photo by Morgan Lane on Unsplash

With cruelest intentions,

my stepmother and

HER

daughters;

she never let me forget the

deliberate, differences, dismal,

Uppity Cindy she shout like a chimney flue

SHE

chased me,

into my room with a frying pan,

open this door or so help me!

I will use your body for cinders-

They make me do everything; swift as sparrow flies

 ONLY to end up covered in soot!

A snooty royal messenger

comes with an invitation

all eligible maidens;

are graciously to attend

as if he gracing in his presence

is some sort of privilege?

I,

don’t finish

chores on time on purpose

visited by fairy like godmother

sees how upset I is—

Wizardry of a fancy dress,

I don’t need a

pristine, prinve, prince

I need to

UWIND

Not to be wallowing in the mud like swine-

These heels pinch;

Crowds make me flinch

and shoes and a carriage 

When the clock strikes midnight,

these handblown glass slippers blow!

Their fragile as your ego-

That has to be stroked like a clock

His hands all over me,

WAIT a minute

you’re wound up tight,

miss uppity

Father says marry up right…

Oh, how trite!

I ain't meek enough for oversight

Forthright, my booty

large as a pumpkin—

Loses my shoe sometime back...

The prince goes door to door;

like shards of glass

he searches everywhere;

  For the maiden

whose foot fits into

a pint child size two-

The search went on till mid-night..

I don’t need a

pristine, prinve, prince

I need to

UWIND

 I got nothing but time, to make up my mind

Let all the desperate damsels

cut their heels off

to fit into those slippers

I can’t live someone else’s happily ever after….

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.