Poets logo

Update for my Muse

I'm working towards acceptance, little by little

By Kelly MendozaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

It's been over a month

since you said goodbye

Since I let you leave

although I don't know why

you did what you did

and I will always miss

the feel of your arms

and the taste of your kiss

I try not to think about

the blue of your eyes

or the words that you said

that turned out to be lies

I don't let myself remember

the sound of your voice

or the heartbreak I could feel

when you made your choice

Each day gets a little easier

as I refuse to acknowledge the pain

I won't let it make me a victim

I won't be weak again

I'm embarrassed by how needy I am

with the mere thought of you

You must think I'm pathetic

I wouldn't blame you, if you do

So I'm going to be stronger

I'll stop hoping you come back

I'll try to see this as what's best for you

instead of something that I lack

I know this wasn't easy for you

when you chose her over me

But you still have the right to my heart

Someday you'll claim it, maybe

There will always be a hole in it

A void nothing can fill

Although I shut out the memories

Love is stronger than will

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Kelly Mendoza

As a newly single mother of 2, I've found myself with extra time on my hands . Whether it's fantasy or paranormal , reading and writing has always been an escape for me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.