Poets logo

Moving On

Saying those words feels so final, like I'm closing a door that's been cracked almost my entire life

By Kelly MendozaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3

I have to pack you up, put you away

like winter clothes in summer season

I can't keep holding out, holding on

when you've never given me a reason

to keep hope alive

wishing you'll see the truth

that our love burns brighter

hotter than in our youth

They say if you love something

then you need to set it free

If it comes back around

then you know it's meant to be

I thought this was our second chance

That it was our time to be

But you closed the door on us

and threw away the key

If you've given up on us

as your actions are showing,

then what choice do I have

when my misery keeps growing?

I have to save what's left of myself

I have to shore up the holes in my soul

I have to patch up the wounds in my heart

and work on making myself whole

My heart will never be the same

I'll never love so open and free

You were my first and my last

that I gave myself to completely

But I know better now

and I'll guard myself, come what may

Your silence is deafening

In it, I hear your answer clear as day

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Kelly Mendoza

As a newly single mother of 2, I've found myself with extra time on my hands . Whether it's fantasy or paranormal , reading and writing has always been an escape for me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.