Poets logo

Unwritten Letters

I Have to Get Better

By Violet Published 4 years ago 1 min read
3
Hopelessly In Love

I hate that it seems like yesterday since you broke my heart and threw me away, yet I still think of you and feel this way.

I sat down and started to write you a letter, but then remembered I shouldn’t, I have to get better.

With hesitation I put down the paper and pen and swore I would never write you again.

I took a deep breath and grabbed my laptop, sat for a moment trying to calm my racing thoughts.

Before I knew it, I had opened word and was staring at an empty doc.

Prepared to write you a letter you might not read or give much thought.

It took some time, but I am glad I remembered, I cannot write you a letter because I have to get better.

I set the laptop down and slid it to my right making sure it is out of sight, I closed my eyes and whispered real light…

Goddess please help me have the strength to say goodbye.

With my left hand I reach over and grab my phone, thinking how free I would feel if I could leave you alone.

Opening my phone, I head straight to Instagram and damn, before I know it, I am on your page again.

I slam down my phone in frustration and sigh.

I put down my head and start to cry.

I must find a way to forget you or pretend you do not exist.

I must find a way to fight these urges I cannot resist.

I cannot go on feeling this way or doing these things forever, I must find a way to be free so I can get better

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Violet

I have always loved to write, even though I may not be the best at it. I am 42 years old and am not getting any younger. Just trying to live a dream the best way I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.