Poets logo

Morning Salutations

Waking Up in Love

By Violet Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

If during the night, I was blessed by the waning moons light, in the morning I would have slowly opened my eyes, and found myself nestled safely in your arms. Feeling completely at ease, I would pause and take my time igniting all my senses and be present in this moment with you. I would not take for granted one look, one sound, one touch, one smell, one taste, or the exchange of our energy as it shifts from my soul to yours.

Slowly, being careful not to disturb your sleep or interrupt your dreams, I would turn so I can know this is not a dream. I would watch as you make cute faces in your sleep, taking mental pictures as memories for me to keep.

I would move in closer so I can hear the beat of your heart, I love to listen intently as if you were composing a work of art.

Entranced by the sound I would lay my head on your chest and feel as it rises and falls, listening to your breath has always brought me a sense of calm.

Gently lifting my head up toward your neck, so I can smell your day-old cologne, it brings me back to a time when we could not leave each other alone. I stop and find comfort in the memory, but like your scent it will fade, but remain a part of my history.

Intoxicated by all the sensations thus far, I press my lips against yours so I can taste how sweet you are. I imagine if heaven had a flavor this is how it would taste. It would be so addicting you might wonder if it were laced.

Now for the finale, one we soon will not forget, the feeling of complete ecstasy as our souls reconnect. As our light and love unite and our energy fuses, you open your eyes and I become lost in the sea of blue. You grab hold of me tight and keep me close; finally, together again in the place we call home.

I reach up gently so I can run my fingers through your hair, and softly slide them down caressing your cheek, I playfully stroke your beard as I meet your stare. The vibe in the moment puts a soft smile on my face and I whisper to you, good morning my love, I hope you are feeling happy because these endearing moments I will always treasure have just made my day. I will love you forever and will always be your babe.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Violet

I have always loved to write, even though I may not be the best at it. I am 42 years old and am not getting any younger. Just trying to live a dream the best way I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.