Poets logo

Unveiling the Invisible Struggles: Navigating Life on the Autism Spectrum

Breaking Barriers, Seeking Understanding, and Embracing Empathy

By Sathya NarayananPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1

Invisible I feel, though my heart's aching sore,

A mask on my face, my struggles at the core,

Professionals nod, but their insight feels thin,

Invisible I remain, trapped within my skin.

Autism's broad spectrum, they're quick to declare,

Yet belittling battles I constantly bear,

The pain that's so real, they fail to perceive,

Lost in my world, it's so hard to believe.

I lay out my truth, my vulnerabilities shown,

But age is a barrier, my identity unknown,

They praise my composure, my emotions in check,

Yet my cries go unheard, like a shipwrecked speck.

Would a man's strong voice break through this veil?

Or would I still be unseen, lost in this trail?

Aware I'm not cured, but I seek understanding,

My words fall like leaves, quietly landing.

In a universe where empathy's often amiss,

I remain in the shadows, trapped in this abyss,

A plea for connection, for someone to see,

In this vast expanse, I long to be free.

So let my words echo, a whisper, a plea,

For empathy, kindness, and insight to see,

To break down the barriers that invisibility builds,

And foster a world where all hearts can be filled.

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.