Poets logo

untitled romance.303

Love Story For The Ages....

By Ari Asha LovePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I knew as the weather got warmer

That we would eventually be no longer.

I tried not to care

But sometimes I cried

Because I felt it wasn’t fair.

The best human I had ever known,

And then they were just gone as quickly as they’d appeared.

The birds were chirping

And I swear our souls were merging.

I tried not to fall

But sometimes I fell so deep.

Sometimes it felt like I was asleep

And our time together was the best dream I’d ever known.

I was terrified of the warmth

And at first I did nothing but reject it.

But she was so perfect

And I was only hurting myself.

I don’t know what did it

But the way her kisses had me melting.

And when the pond started thawing

I knew that our time was drawing to an end.

I knew that eventually we would have to end.

I hated the ice

But you adored it.

I was barely getting by

Meanwhile,

It was your favorite time of the year.

I remember the feeling of your voice in my ear

And the way I hated to love it.

I don’t think I could use that word with you

But I know that what we had was so beautiful.

Holding your hands for the first time was such a special moment.

It was after the pond had first frozen.

Your eyes held this beautiful golden hue

And I felt like such a fool for falling.

I felt like such a fool for wanting you.

You proved to be trouble in the end,

Even though you never did anything wrong.

I wish we didn’t last so long

So I didn’t have to feel so torn when things ended.

Remember when you got offended

When I told you your makeup wasn’t well-blended.

I still think of the face you made when you were thinking.

I still wonder how one human could seem so perfect.

Even with all the heartache in the end,

I do believe everything was worth it.

It is true what people say,

How it’s better to have loved than not at all.

She was so hot and fiery,

It’s a wonder how the ice never melted early.

So funny and so charming,

And her wit is still unmatched.

And don’t get me started on her laugh;

Oh so beautiful.

Oh how harmonious.

I don’t know much

But I knew I was in love with her.

One time she left me with my thoughts

And I couldn’t help but to think

What it would be like to have tots with her.

I couldn’t help but to leave in tears.

It hadn’t even been a whole year

But it felt like a lifetime.

I am not one to whine

But it’s hard to truly find the words that accurately express

How I felt with her;

And what it felt like when she left me.

No, I’m not angry.

But I am just a little at myself,

For loving her as hard as I did;

To get so attached to her flesh?

I feel so silly.

I feel so dumb.

An excuse that I make is I was young,

But I was O so dumb and in love.

O so dumb and naive

To think that neither of us would have to leave.

I knew it,

But I tried to ignore it.

I could feel before it happened

Just how devastating it would feel when it did.

I wish I could say that it’s tragic

But really I’m more glad for the magic.

I wonder if you think of me

The way I think of you.

I wonder if your reality

Has changed so dramatically

The way mine has because of you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ari Asha Love

Been writing all my life but the question is whether or not I truly take it seriously.

You can find me on most social media platforms as afroqueergod :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.