Poets logo

Until you.

You make me unique. Thank you.

By Kate FinnertyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Until you.
Photo by Brent Ninaber on Unsplash

I travelled at a speed

so fast I did not see colour.

Life was nothing, I was nothing

more than a blur, until you.

.

How I craved to slow my blistered feet.

You blazed into my life with that sun flower smile.

Giddy.

We, you and me (and him) basked on grass,

imprinted by friendship.

Paper skin bronzed, silvering hair, memories.

Golden days, though now time drains.

They say you can’t stay here. Seconds.

I grasp onto a life I had never envisioned, until you.

Flushed body whirring, blurred lines returning.

Alone.

I run to him, now my love.

My mourning lined eyes fall to my cheeks.

Drowning. I plead,

What of the colour?

.

Good morning, Good evening.

Guiding me into the day,

I am always nine steps behind you.

Upside down, catching palette flakes,

Piecing together the image that you created of me.

.

I am only me because of you.

You ignited my spirit with a bursting red.

I was lost, abandoned by myself.

Until you. We are unique.

To be your friend is an honour.

.

I travel at a speed,

Slow, like you showed me.

Him by my side, vision blurred

by tears. I feel it here.

.

Colourful us.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.