Poets logo

Until I Met You

The purest type of love at first sight.

By Maria WallischPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Until I Met You
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Never believed in love at first sight.

Never thought it was true.

Ever heard of love before sight? That's how it was with you.

I remember when she told me, standing in my closet, and we hugged,

and I already knew.

I went to Girl Scout Camp for a week that summer and wrote a poem

for the camp talent show

about you.

I wondered if you would have grown while I was away.

The morning you arrived we got to miss school, thanks for that, by the way.

We even got Frappuccinos from Starbucks,

because it was your birthday.

Through the labor and delivery unit

in a tiny plastic crib

was a tiny perfect human

who I loved

who hadn't met me yet

"hi," I said

"I'm your sister"

love poems
1

About the Creator

Maria Wallisch

Self-identified Highly Sensitive Person (HSP) trying to carve out a joyful corner in an increasingly bleak world. I have one daughter, a French Bulldog named Chanel who farts a lot. I'm an Aries.

Instagram: @mariadubbs

Medium: @maria.wallisch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.