Poets logo

Untangled Kevlar

Exposed Feelings

By Sue Do NimhPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Time and time again we sit with feelings pressed into our chests. Woven traumas strung together like Kevlar threads. Knit armor with spools and spools of lies like "I'm great"

"I'm okay"

Or "I'm doing fine"

Could you imagine saying truthfully

"No, I'm not fine. I've been bedridden during the day, and I'm up all night reciting the lines of poems written by other romantic and overthinking the semantics in the notes you once wrote me and all the things the world has taught me. "

Can we untangle our insecurities so we can wrangle the things we the things we really need? Get a good hold on love and let it be? Imagine waking up today to say

"No, I'm not great. The sun is too bright, the shadows too cold. I've lost my courage. I don't feel bold. I know I'm running away when it's your hand I want to hold but the weight is sucking me under, the Kevlar and the feelings."

Imagine honestly telling your loved ones that you're reeling, and countlessly recounting these unsettling moments where you want to take emotion by the hands and just choke it - snuff it out like nothing happened. Imagine how weightless that'd feel?

But non of that is real and that's the whole ordeal.

I can't justify my desire to not always want to heal...sometimes I just want to be made of steel.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Sue Do Nimh

Welcome Wanderer. I'm just a speck, on the floating speck, floating through the millions of specks all around; trying to decide when to use a comma, and when to let it alone.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.