Poets logo

Untangle our Mess!

I plead

By Shirley BelkPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
12
February 24

I woke early before daylight. This morning my head is full of prayers for my loved ones. I talk to God about each of them. I know my concerns are no surprise at all to Him, and that He is probably already actively working in our lives, weaving our lives into something that makes so much more sense from His point of view, which is so far above mine. (A beautiful full moon shines from out of the western sky with a huge golden circle around it to illuminate these thoughts in my heart.)

But from down here, I just see a tangled mess.

I mentally (and spiritually) take the hand of each loved one and bring them to the Throne of our Good Father and plead my case for them. One of them has a birthday today. She is twenty-five. Sometimes she's not quite sure of what to do with herself and her future. Please give her a clear vision of her purpose and a passion to pursue it with courage.

Her mother is the one that I am most concerned for, though. She struggles with mental health issues, and she is running on reserves at the present. And she isn't making good decisions. Please keep her safe from all harm and give her peace.

Around this time of year, I face the six-year anniversary of losing a grandchild to a heroin overdose. I went back on Facebook and read our message conversations from only a day before she died. Her heart was to get to know God intimately. You heard her, Lord. And now You have her.

Other grandchildren (and my niece) are at turning points in their lives, too. I pray they are talking to You and sense Your presence in their lives. I pray they look to You for guidance. Please surround them all with people who love You and bring positivity into their lives.

Some of my children need a measure of forgiveness in their hearts and lives. Draw them to that acknowledgment, please. Let them feel Your love for them.

Thank You for loving us! Thank You for calming my soul with Your Spirit and Your Word.

I refuse to be worried when I can have God

inspirationalProseMental HealthGratitude
12

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    I loved how you constructed this by incorporating prayer within it. God Bless, you, Shirley. He's listening. 🙏🏽💖

  • Staringale2 months ago

    This is beautifully written family piece. Love the quote at the end. And I agree with a conversation with God can solve a lot of things.

  • Beautiful Shirley. Thank you for sharing.

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    It has to be so tough losing a child or grandchild to addiction. ❤️Really to anything. It is tough enough when they are in active addiction as that is such a loss too! Sending hugs for the especially tough times!🫂🤗

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Faith is what keeps us all sane and on the right path to a healthy existence. Love the quote.

  • Test2 months ago

    A beautiful piece, so centred around family and love. I cannot imagine how difficult the anniversary is for you and the family left behind. Thinking of you and hope that future answers your prayers 🤍

  • Sending you and your mom lots of love and hugs ❤️❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.