Poets logo

unspoken

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

you fanned the flames

from one senseless spark

everyone saw how

these things were made

in the worst possible shape

there was not an iota of truth in it

you did it for one purpose, to be noticed

and get a higher position

in this rat race of brutal bullies

smoking, snorting, or injecting crack

just like you did

with your boys at nights –

memories that last

forever

only identifying my weaknesses

only on one side

to hit with more force

making it more fun

than to bring it to the table;

after that Monday I tried really hard

to throw you out of my heart

it didn’t help, it was the same

for a long time

it stuck to me like an old splinter to a tree

and I think

you will stay there

as you represent

the first unrequited love I’ve never had

and the next ones without fulfilment

leaving me alone in disfavour

bordering on insanity

will you ever let me be…?

---

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.