Poets logo

Unspoken

Momentarily Broken

By Tyler SimpsonPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

You stared into my eyes and stuttered

Your eyes speak your truth, but your tongue keeps you safe

Years of neglect and abandonment have taught you to wait

To hold your voice

To guard your heart

To pretend

Mask the pain and don't let the words get away

I wish my eyes could speak and they would say

I understand

I can have patience

I can wait

Unmask the pain and let the words fall away

I mustn't speak

Words are so easily manipulated, so often they have spoken to you

A gaze, however, may convey my truth

I adore you.

love poems

About the Creator

Tyler Simpson

I write for myself here, but you’re welcome to join me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tyler SimpsonWritten by Tyler Simpson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.