Poets logo

Unspoken

A poem by Lena

By Lena FolkertPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Unspoken
Photo by Daria Shevtsova on Unsplash

*** Author's Note: Today was the funeral of a close friend, and as we all so often find, I did not tell her enough of what she meant to me. So, this is a taste of what I feel and what I should have said every day. What we should all say every day to those who mean the most. Please Enjoy Brudda Iz singing my favorite and most healing song. To all of those we miss and love. ***

***

I feel the broken shards you left behind

They split apart and stab my insides

The pain spreads throughout me

Everything we were meant to be

Has disappeared into nothingness

All I have left is this deep darkness

What am I to say, my friend?

That I wish this wasn't the end?

That I miss the moments we shared?

I hope you know how much I cared

When I was too weak and foolish

To show how much you were missed

And not that it's too late to show you

I can only pray that you really knew

I was too selfish to help you see

Just how much you meant to me

So, I'm left with these broken shards left behind

And they split apart and stab my insides

As the pain spreads throughout me

At the loss of everything we were meant to be

All of this hollow nothingness

Has left me sitting in darkness

As I remember the moments we shared

And pray you knew just how much I cared

Can you forgive me for being so weak?

Those important words I couldn't speak

I'm so sorry I was too selfish to help you see

Just how important you were to me

What else can I say, my friend?

You were so much better than me in the end

***

Author's final note: Thank you for taking the time to read my poem. If you enjoyed what you read, please click HERE for more, and don't forget to LIKE, SHARE, & SUBSCRIBE! Tips are Always Greatly Appreciated!❤

Want to learn how to get more out of your Vocal experience? Read this:

Check out My First Top Story on Vocal with this Short Story about Finding Love:

And read this Short Story about a Bounty Hunter named Chloe!

Look below for one of my favorite poems and my Second Top Story on Vocal!

❤ Click HERE To Check Out My Main Profile Page! And As Always, Thank You - For Reading & Supporting My Work!! ❤

sad poetry

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lena FolkertWritten by Lena Folkert

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.