Poets logo

Unseen Love, Unheard Words"

"Heart's Silent Serenade"

By Naome MogaswaPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
Unseen Love, Unheard Words"
Photo by Anda Deea on Unsplash

In a world of hidden desires and unspoken dreams,

A tale of unrequited love, or so it seems,

"I love you more today than yesterday," I confess,

But your heart is elsewhere, in another's caress.

It's true, we never know love till we find the one,

For whom we'd risk it all, under the moon and the sun.

I've loved you more than you can ever perceive,

Longing for you, a love I'll never retrieve.

From the dawn of time, my heart has been yours,

Though you might not notice, through life's bustling chores.

I see you, oh yes, I see you quite clear,

Every smile, every gesture, my heart holds dear.

The way your fingers grace your hair with finesse,

Your smile when you see cats, pure tenderness.

The nervous lip-licking, a telltale sign,

And the way you gaze at her, forever, she's thine.

That hidden notebook, what secrets it guards,

Is it me that you long for in these scribbled regards?

Or the world's cold brutality, offering naught,

Your dreams, your desires, the battles you've fought.

I know you, I accept you, yearning so deep,

My heart aches as you pass, a secret I keep.

I want to be with you, in you, by your side,

But you barely notice me, my feelings to hide.

I wonder if you know, as I watch you with her,

How my heart bleeds, lost in a love's cruel blur.

For I play awake at night, thoughts filled with you,

Only to dream of a love that can never come true.

You torture me, oh how you do,

Why can't you see the love that's so true?

The happiness you seek is right here, near,

But you've chosen another, that much is clear.

What does she possess that I cannot find?

Your heart, it seems, in her love is entwined.

I wonder if you know the pain I endure,

Lying awake at night, my love for you pure.

But alas, my dear, I must let you go,

For you've made your choice, and it's her that you know.

Though my love is endless, it's time to forget,

For you've clearly chosen another, and I mustn't regret.

In the silence of night, I'll bid you adieu,

My love for you, is eternal, forever true.

I'll carry the ache, the bittersweet pain,

As you walk away with her, my love is in vain.

For love unrequited is a burden to bear,

A heart that still loves, though you're unaware.

In the depths of my soul, your memory will stay,

"I love you more today than yesterday," I'll silently say.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakfact or fiction

About the Creator

Naome Mogaswa

📚 I'm more than a writer; I'm a word wizard, a maestro of tales, and a dream sculptor. With my pen, I breathe life into characters and worlds that burst with imagination. If you crave adventure, you've found your guide.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    This was so heartbreaking and relatable! I loved it!

  • Beast8 months ago

    this reminds me of a crush I once had.

NMWritten by Naome Mogaswa

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.