Poets logo

Unseen

Stranger In My Skin

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
13
Unseen
Photo by Bernd 📷 Dittrich on Unsplash

Lying awake in the dark, while all the world is asleep

dreaming under blankets of white, drifting away in the deep

reflections gaze back from the frozen eyes of the lake

the wind sweeps the trees, howling, the music leaves make

when what you've whispered to me, went so far in soothing this soul

a sweet tender release, allowing me to surrender control

as delicate as the snow balancing on a branch

stirring my passion, an unrehearsed avalanche

to lose myself and fade away in twilight

how I feel as you fall over me like the night

surreal poetrynature poetrylove poems
13

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    This is wonderfully-written, with such beautiful imagery. I like the mix of nature and love, particularly in “stirring my passion, an unrehearsed avalanche”. Well done😊 Good luck in the challenge!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Lovely work Kelli! 😊👍

  • This was so stunningly gorgeous! Absolutely loved it!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Beautiful descriptions of a lovely scene, even better when read as a metaphor.

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Wow, Kelli, you've sure started off the year with a whole lot of great writing! Another awesome piece!

  • Nice

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Beautiful piece, once again. Well done, my friend.

  • Excellent work. You are one of the finest poets on Vocal-Media. Everything you write is quality.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    It works so well, very good!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.