Poets logo

Unexpected Company

For a Friend

By Opal PursleyPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Mother said it’s polite to knock

but you let yourself in

no lamps

no bed

me cross-legged on the floor

still wearing Saturday's sweatshirt

I gave no words

you gave no warning

but you opened the window

let in the sun

and the first lungs-worth of fresh air

you sat down in the mess I’d made

“tell me- I promise I’ll listen.”

and you did

to everything

and I noticed the dust for the first time

now

two armchairs

a vase of hydrangeas

and two cups of hot chocolate

because you don’t like coffee

and occasionally it still gets dusty

but you remind me to sweep

and no visit is soon enough

nor is any visit is long enough

because you’re the most lovely company

and you still never knock.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Opal Pursley

currently living inside sunsets, mountains, and black coffee

hoping this helps me, and that you'll be comforted, too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.