Poets logo

under the sidewalk

out of the sun

By ShaunPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
under the sidewalk
Photo by Himal Rana on Unsplash

As you sat on the other

side of the subway car,

your radiant smile was evident

from beneath the mask.

In that space, in that place

where there is rarely any grace,

we found tranquility and peace.

Sigh, pandemic memories.

Not to mention that

your eyes

hinted at a wonderful surprise.

A person full of life,

love and it seemed

someone terrible at putting on a disguise.

I knew you were awesome,

but I didn't know what to do,

so I sat on my hands and

acted the fool.

Me being me,

I was afraid

to ask

If you happened to be unattached.

So I sat and I stared...

sorry for the staring...

and then something magic happened.

You spoke to me and said,

Do you want to hang out sometime?

And that is the story we'll be telling our grandkids.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Shaun

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.