Poets logo

Uncommonly Beautiful

The New Normal

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
12
My daughter, Wynter

Don't you dare contain my wildness in your opinion box

I'm far too rare - to fit in its four walls

Just look at me, the definition of a paradox

Beauty and brains, defying logic of Neanderthal's

*

For far too long you've measured value by the way that someone looks

Think you can quote the book, by glancing at its cover

But you have no idea the consequence your ignorance of me, unlocked

If you had used your head, you would have pre-discovered

*

That my ability to be myself these days, is effortless

It took some time, but now I thrive on the unique

For years I've tried to rise above the indifference

Social rules that oppressed and quieted the weak

*

Who I love, what I wear or how I view myself

Does not depend on your point of view, at all

So, take your guilt and shame and shove it high - upon a shelf

And settle back under the rock, from which you crawled

*

I'm quite content with the ones I surround myself with

They love and support - all the ways I am uncommon

I decline the brow beatings, from an old wife's tale, myths

We communicate with love, respect, and calm

*

I hope one day, appearance doesn't play a part

In the way someone is weighed and duly measured

That we will have learned that quality comes from - deep within the heart

And the unlikeliest, becomes a character trait we treasure

slam poetry
12

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I love the "Don't hate me cause I'm beautiful" vibe this puts off. Excellent sentiments! I definitely hearted this one.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    The brash courage of youth coming into ones own shines through in this piece. Would that a little bit of that light rubs off on us so that we remember we once shone that bright. Well done :)

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    I love it! Be confident!

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    thoughtful sentiments and structure, Kelli - maybe a couple quick edits...I usually find mind after I hit "sned"! 2nd stanza-second line ( an its typo?)5th stanza second line(ways) best regards, wardo

  • Excellent Words

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    This is amazing, Kelli! Well done!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    That was some excellent slam poetry from the beginning to the end! Well said, Kelli :) Really great work on this.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderfully said. Here here!

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Wow... great idea for this challenge. My youngest child was the first to wear sagging pants as a skateboarder, when it was mostly illegal. Then I had a son that had purple, blue and pink hair and he and my daughter wore shorts and no coat all winter. Sometimes tie-dyed long underwear under jeans that had the crotch tore out. All smart kids. Fast approaching 50's and they look like most other adults today.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.