Poets logo

Uncommon Or Rare Is What We Are Going For In This Poem

Poetry is fun, poetry is a challenge, and some poetry subjects are uncommon and rare!

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 1 min read
6
Uncommon Or Rare Is What We Are Going For In This Poem
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

Uncommon and Rare

The meat in the photo is rare.

I was told don't eat it, and to be aware,

a tick bite can cause a meat allergy today.

If that is what it is, it may go away.

****

When I saw the beef scratch test rise,

I couldn't believe it. It was a surprise.

Tick bites are a way to not eat meat.

My worst allergy yet, that no one else can beat.

****

Who doesn't want a cheeseburger now and again?

I will still eat turkey, fish, and chicken.

The picture above makes me feel sick

I don't care for rare steak. I say ick.

****

It probably is okay to have a tick allergy then,

It will go away sooner or later, and maybe when

I least expect it to be gone. Rare and uncommon,

thankfully for you, a beef allergy is not at all common!

=====================================

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Nicely done, or should I say well done

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I rarely eat red meat and has to be well done. Great entry for the challenge

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely done. I'm not a fan of rare either.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.