Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Uncertainty.

Are you at the end of this?

By RabbitPublished 30 days ago 1 min read
Uncertainty.
Photo by Aldebaran S on Unsplash

Are you sure you want to remove the relationship In A Relationship with ____?

Are you sure you want to delete this picture?

No, okay, no. I'm not sure.

I don't want to. I really don't fucking want to.

This is the most unsure thing I've done.

I'm unsure, terrified, and scared.

Isn't that what it's really about?

I'm afraid of the unknown and the uncertainty.

I'm scared I'll never get to look at your brown eyes again.

Or hear your laugh in my ear buds.

I'll only ever see your smile when I close my eyes.

I'm afraid I'll never get to know you again.

That amazing, funny, nerdy guy; I'll never know anymore.

I'll never touch your face and give you another hug.

Or wake up next to you.

The uncertainty grips me. It makes me panic.

So much so that I pull up your contact, starting to type a message.

But the feeling with pass.

The uncertainty doesn't seem so scary.

I jump head first into the unknown.

I click 'delete picture' and remove my relationship status.

No, I'm not sure of any of this, none of this.

To get to the known and the comfort.

This is how it has to be.

Embracing the uncertainty, living with the unknown.

Maybe you're in that space on the other side.

love poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Rabbit

I see the world a little differently than most. Even at a young age I was writing down what I saw but never sharing it with a soul until now. I'm choosing love over fear.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran29 days ago

    Gosh this hit me so hard! It was extremely relatable

RabbitWritten by Rabbit

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.