Poets logo

Uncanny Valley

Dreams of the Dreamless

By Natasja RosePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
5
Uncanny Valley
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

To sleep, perchance to dream, yet dreams elude

Eyes close on darkness, imagination eshewed.

No dreams dwell here, time flies without mark

Blank nothing enfolds me, until morning's lark.

Sometimes Fate laughs and a lucid dream

Appears, with nothing as it might seem.

Something wrong, something strange, not quite right,

Yet so real, I almost mistake it for morning's light.

A little out of place, something they or I would not do

Events that never happened, though I wish they were true.

Lucid dreams are no story, no fantasy sweet,

Perhaps another world, formed where universes meet.

A reality where this happened, a 'what might have been'

Taunting and tempting, if only in a dream.

Originally, I wasn't going to enter this challenge, because I don't dream.

At least, I never dream anything that I can remember. When I do, it's a kind of half-dream, a lucid dream, where I'm aware that I'm dreaming because while the events feel real, I know that some aspect isn't possible, or that things didn't happen that way.

The entire time I'll be dream-living through this, I was aware that something wasn't right, but couldn't quite put my finger on what.

Honestly, Lucid Dreams are like being Neo in the Matrix; aware that something is wrong, but not quite sure how until you wake up.

If you liked this story, leave a heart or a tip, and follow me on Vocal and Medium! Or check out my published works on Amazon.

surreal poetryfact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • C.Z.about a year ago

    Very well done, I loved this perception of the phenomena

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great. Very well done.

  • Testabout a year ago

    Sometimes I kind of miss it, yet all my life I had so much of such. Its called Hypnogogia, A waking dream or yes lucid dreaming. You don't know if its reality you are looking at or dreamstate.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.