Poets logo

Uncaged

A- Z Mental Health spiral

By Elizabeth ButlerPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Like

Am I worthless?

Because I don’t play by the rules?

Caring every second of every day,

Draining me completely.

Exhausted and shattered.

From this thing I call my life

Growing into a person I really don’t want to be.

Hungry for power

Isolation takes its toll.

Jail inside my thoughts crawling to be free.

Keeping one eye firmly stuck.

Learning to blend into this crowd of dullness.

Managing a way to focus on what’s real.

Not a sound spoken but my brain knows.

Other than power nothing is a priority.

Performance within my own life.

Quitting everything I know to be true,

Rummaging for a reason I should turn it around.

Somewhere in the depths of my mind,

Trailing off into the distance

Unusual circumstances arrive.

Visually I’m of sound mind.

Why do I pander to these rules of life?

Xanax, the only drug that can forgo this pain.

Yelling at myself intently, forcing myself to cry,

Zillion and one voices won’t shut the hell up!

Mental HealthAcrostic
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Butler

Elizabeth Butler has a masters in Creative Writing University .She has published anthology, Turning the Tide was a collaboration. She has published a short children's story and published a book of poetry through Bookleaf Publishing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.