Poets logo

Unburied Soul

On Display

By Renee RankePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by: Renate Gellings-Reese from Pixabay

I have been here before

Though I remember not when

Turn to the left, open the door

Inside

A ballroom dimly lit and large

On my knees yanking up the floorboard

An endless number of cats

Guilt

How long have I buried them beneath

Surviving by their own wiles

With no one to see them no

Love

Searching, searching, searching

Where is the black one

I am sure there is a black one

Looking

Everywhere but none to be found

Here is a brown one

It doesn’t look like the rest

Strange

Looking. Knobby, lumpy, oddly shaped

Oh I love her, she is different, unique

But before I can embrace her

Gone

There she is behind that glass

A display case

I can’t find a door; I can’t get her out

Fear

That she will starve

She needs love, I can’t leave her here

Although she seems pretty happy

Alone

Relaxed curled up behind the glass

She doesn’t seem to worry

Her oddness is her beauty

Strength

In her difference and ready to be on display

Turn up the lights and

Let people in

Now

I will show myself from

Behind the glass

And they will love me or leave me

Amen

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Renee Ranke

I am a reborn writer (funny since the name Renee means 'reborn'). On my mystical journey, I have rediscovered, in writing, a long-lost love and a way to strengthen my connection to my own divinity.

ReneeRanke.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.