Poets logo

Unburdening Nightmares

fear of where the mind can take you is a heavy cross to bear; let it go.

By Dina HanaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Unburdening  Nightmares
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

There was once a time I was afraid to dream

Fear of the places my mind would take me overpowered me

Would I return to the treacherous landscapes I've seen?

Could I conceive new monsters to further hurt me?

Or will the ghosts of my cruel past visit me?

Uncertainty of where my mind would go haunted me

The risk of pain was unbearable, to say the least

Through compassion, I found strength

Through my willingness to change, I overcame

Now the hellscapes I once feared mean nothing to me

In my dreams, I see fascinating things

My fear does not own me

performance poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Dina Hana

I am a poet and storyteller. I love to share compelling stories and am ALWAYS vulnerable. Life is too short to hold things in, especially feelings.

TikTok: Wildcardyogi

IG: Wildcardyogi_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.