Poets logo

Two Rare Eagles

A poem about two bald eagles I spotted in the same summer: one alive, one dead.

By Madison NewtonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5

A massive bird dove down to the water,

wings outstretched, talons taut;

he caught the bass in one fell swoop

and alighted on a branch, hungry and hot.

A second bird dove down to the water,

feathers wind blown, eyes transfixed;

the sharp hooks pierced straight through his feet

as the fishing lure anchored him and he drowned at the surface.

sad poetrynature poetryheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Madison Newton

I'm a recent graduate of Stony Brook University with a degree in Environmental Humanities and Filmmaking. I love writing and storytelling, and I love sharing my work so I can continue to improve my written voice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    That's very sad! They're majestic birds but is their call ever wimpy; sounds like a mouse yelling into a stiff breeze doesn't it?

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Aw, such a sad ending. I really love a good sad ending. I’m also one to take pictures of decomposing animals… not sure why I’m morbidly fascinated. Lol In the area where I’m from, the Bald Eagle can be observed in numbers. I guess I’m blessed to have grown up in a sight seeing spot.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.