Poets logo

Two Phones

A Poem

By Christopher "Ski" GanczewskiPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Two Phones
Photo by Đức Trịnh on Unsplash

There is a joke I like to tell

It gets less funny with time

and age

and audience

but I still like to tell it.

***

There are only two kinds of people who carry two phones:

drug dealers

and whores.

***

So if you find yourself

with two phones

ask yourself

critically

honestly

"What am I selling?"

***

As I sit and enjoy the hotel breakfast

that I'm sure is only worth 20 Euro

if you take full advantage of the buffet

I note the amount of people in the room

with two phones

and wonder

"What are they selling?"

***

And then I take a second

to consciously feel

the lone, single device

sitting in my pocket

still

no rings

no vibrations

and ask myself...

"...shit. What am I?"

social commentary

About the Creator

Christopher "Ski" Ganczewski

I write things. Sometimes they matter.

Active Duty USAF TACP Officer.

Mountain biker. Board gamer. Imbibement appreciator.

Niagara Falls, NY born and raised.

Often found with a dog attached to my hip, near either a trailhead or a brewery.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    I have a student with two smartphones... Curious... 🤔

Christopher "Ski" GanczewskiWritten by Christopher "Ski" Ganczewski

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.