Poets logo

Two of Seven Sins

Entry 2

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Two of Seven Sins
Photo by Thomas Griesbeck on Unsplash

All my friends have so much

Even my neighbors have so much

So much compared to my so little

Why do they have more than me?

Why do they have better than me?

Why can't I have what they have?

I bought this car just last year

It wasn't new, but I thought it was nice

My neighbor across the way just bought a new one

A pretty, sleek, fast, sports car

Why should they have more than me?

Why should they have better than me?

Why can't I have what they have?

Sure, I have a nice little condo

But my friend just bought a house with their partner

The house warming wasn't much

No party could outshine that house

How could they have more than me?

How could they have better than me?

Why can't I have what they have?

My home is small

My car is old

My clothes don't fill my closet

I don't have many nice things

How dare they have more than me

How dare they have better than me

Why shouldn't I have what they have

surreal poetryperformance poetry
3

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This felt scary to me. It can either be Envy or Jealousy. Not sure which one. Loved your poem!

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    Wow, do you live in my body? I'm struggling to pay my bills. Each month, I just barely make it. I moved onto this street in 1999 and since then, most of the homes have seen new owners . . . nearly every one of them can boast a seven-to-eight figure net worth. I keep thinking: it's just not fair. Why cany some of them be as broke as I am? Oh well, maybe I'll buy a lottery ticket and keep my fingers crossed. Loved your story; it sure did hit home.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.