Poets logo

Two Nights

A Fictional Poem

By owenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Two Nights
Photo by Todd Diemer on Unsplash

For best experience, listen to my music while reading this poem.

...

I took a trip to my ex's house, to see if I missed him

But deep down inside, I knew it was just a whim

My alter ego was kickin' in, tryna mess with my head

But I packed my pride and shelved my libido instead

I stopped my searchin', realized it's me that I'm hurtin'

And there's no room for doubt, my heart needs some assertin'

I promised myself I'd stay strong, and not ask for his help

I don't need nobody else, I'll do it myself

Just 'cause I'm afraid of lovin', don't mean I don't wanna try

I'm runnin' circles with no shame, but I won't lie

It's lonely comin' home to nothin', it's time to make a change

To find the love that I deserve, and break away from this strange

So I hit the streets, emotional baggage in tow

Asked a man for help, and he had a wisdom to bestow

He held my hand, and asked where this weight was from

I told him it's from cheap love, and the battles I've won

Little did I know, he was a veteran of love

And he'd help me find my way, like a guiding dove

We chased up the South with some cherry wine

It's lookin' like there's somethin' in the air tonight, a love so divine

I promised myself I'd stay strong, and not ask for his help

But with him, I found a love I never knew I felt

I'm no longer runnin' circles with no shame

I've found my way, and it's time to stake my claim

Just 'cause I was afraid of lovin', didn't mean I couldn't try

I found the love that I deserved, and now I'll never say goodbye

No more comin' home to nothin', my heart is finally full

I've found a love that's true and pure, and it's all because I was bold.

fact or fictionsad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

owen

Composer, poet, and essayist, with a deep interest for philosophy, psychology, food, and interactive media. https://linktr.ee/wagyuadobo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.