Poets logo

Two fleet in the grave

A poem by Stella Snow

By Stella SnowPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

And it is after all just a feeling my love

And feelings are fleeting

And my absence will soon become familiar to you like a painting above the fireplace. and your surroundings won’t have me imprinted on them anymore.

And the smell of jasmine on a warm evening, the birds chirping and the river flowing will soon attach themselves to a new memory. and the imprint of our time together in your mind will fade away with the pink clouds.

You will long for my touch as I will yours. And there will be moments of pure grief and agony when you realise you will never feel my skin against yours again, and your eyes will close tightly shut, and it’ll be a pain so deep that you’ll lose your breath for a moment, you will understand what it truly means to miss another souls company. But like the autumn leaves, these feelings will be swept away with the wind and remain only where you cannot see them.

For a time, when you laugh, you will feel a sense of guilt for not weeping and grieving over me and me not sharing your joy. And people’s words of comfort soon turn into cliches and repetitive meaningless dribble. You will long for my laughter and my smile and you’ll look for it wherever you go. But soon you’ll give up looking, and you will find the beauty in another’s laugh. For it is just a feeling my love, and feelings are fleeting. Love is surely immortal not in memory, but in the veins of time and in the summer evening air that we changed and made our own when we lived within it.

Sometimes the sounds of those afternoon birds singing will give you a headache, it will make your heart ache and it will invite you back into sadness. But please remember, every living person hears that sound differently and associates it with a memory good or bad. How you choose to make memories with others and change how they hear a birds song is what matters most.

If the summer rain gives you anxiety because I am not beside you telling stories of my travels and tribulations, read a new story and light a candle to make your soul feel warm.

And if you ever feel the need to turn the lights of the world out, to draw your curtains and hide beneath the blankets until you’re ready to dance again, then do. For it is just a feeling my darling, and feelings are fleeting.

my lips may never touch yours again, and my arms may never hold you tight again, but know that love cannot die.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.