Poets logo

twice in one night

you caught my sight

By Ms. RodwellPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
twice in one night
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

October 10th, 2022

Twice in one night,

You caught my sight

As I caught yours

.

I saw you from across,

in a group of friends

Focused on me

Distracted from them

.

A leather trench coat

Eyes as blue as my feelings

Outlined in black

Shadowed by the smoke of a cigarette

.

With your hair in spikes

to defend or attack

long fingers as claws,

the approach, not ready yet

.

You stare just right

until my eyes bump into your sight

You flinch, look away

Though I know your attention is still mine

.

Discreetly checking me out

Waiting for me to move

But I don’t

Never could

.

Patient for my distraction

Just so you can stare again

I pretend careless

what might follow is pain

.

Twice in one night,

You caught my sight

As I caught yours

.

- Ms. Rodwell

fact or fictionheartbreaklove poemssad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ms. Rodwell

call her a pseudonym or a catfish, but she'll persist in her pursuit of fabulousness

TT: @Ms_Rodwell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.