Poets logo

Turquoise is in my hair, Dad

A sonnet for my dad and Meramac Springs

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
10

turquoise is in my hair, dad

And dirt and all the oldies drowning out my sadness from your car CD player

Turquoise shining in your eyes from the blue waters and sky, your smiling keeping me glad

You saw me like your son, no less, and into my memory, I smell the turquoise river, layer by layer

The rocks tumble as I cast my fly-rod out to the sparkly clear cold blue, my feet deep inside the hue

I pretended to stay as still as a frame

I am the turquoise water now, dad, I am one with the summery wave, I am the blue

I wanted to capture this moment so we could be there forever, but time I cannot tame

Turquoise is all around us, sparkling in the sun

The vibrant waves of gleaming wonder swimming like a dance

Summer was in your smile, in your singing voice, in our father/daughter fun

Summer felt better now because you gave my sadness a lift, and helped me without a second glance

Turquoise is in my whole soul, dad, in yours and in everyone

I would like to share this grand little turquoise moment——for anyone who is sad and needs some love and some fun.

***

Author note: this sonnet is dedicated to my dad, how he has always made me feel at home anywhere we go. Especially at Meramac Springs, a special place we often went together.

nature poetry
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous will be published by Eukalypto

& Atonement will be released this August by JMS Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.