Poets logo

Turn Into Ashes

by TD Riyan

By T.D. RiyanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I swear I wanted immortality.

I swear I wanted forever.

I swear what I feel is unconditional,

I never cared about the weather.

But it takes a little too much,

To try and keep up,

With all of the love,

I hold on to…

For you.

I want your face to disappear.

I want your number to fade away.

It’s spent too long in my memory,

And I can’t take it another day.

I pray you turn into ashes in my mind.

I’ll sweep ‘em up if I ever have the time.

Or maybe I’ll dump ‘em in the ocean.

Depends on the emotion.

I pray you turn into ashes in my mind.

I swear I never saw a cemetery.

I swear I never saw my love on a headstone.

My intention was to be the one who never left,

Never wanted you to be alone.

But I think I cared too much,

And you never cared enough.

Still foolishly, I gave love.

And held on to it like a crutch.

I want your eyes to disappear.

I want your smile to fade away.

It’s spent too long in my memory.

And I can’t take it another day.

No funeral services needed.

I just want to get it over with.

Cremation, smoke rising.

I’ll mourn you with a fifth.

I’ll wear black because I loved you.

I’ll wear black because I mean it.

I’ll wear black because I’ll miss you.

I’ll wear black because you’re leaving.

And when I wake up, 1st thing in the morning,

If your face isn’t what I see.

I’ll know I found the remedy.

I’ll know I’m finally free.

heartbreaksad poetryart
Like

About the Creator

T.D. Riyan

I've been writing all my life. From short stories and songs to poetry and full scripts. I've won several different writing contests throughout my life and recently released my first official poetry book on Amazon; The Boy Who Lucid Dreamed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.