Poets logo

Tunnel Vision

By Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
10
Anthony Macajone, Pexels

There's a rhythm to the lights I pass by

In the old Hubbard Tunnel I occupy.

It's hypnotic, almost narcotic.

I loop around for another pass.

I may be late for my college class.

Why an encore? To stay the stressor.

*

Just why the professor has it out for me

Is unknown to the likes of me.

I'm always nice, my work is precise.

Yet he questions me and glares.

His focus solely on me impairs.

And so I slow before I must go.

*

Why should I rush to be humiliated

When I already feel unappreciated?

Time to face it, hopefully make it

Walking in, something is strange.

The atmosphere has a positive change.

I shut the door to smiles galore.

*

The professor shakes my hand as I gape

I am tempted to turn and escape,

But I am confused, and a bit amused.

It seems he did see my potential,

Even though he kept it confidential,

And he confessed that he pushed for my best.

*

He nominated me for a prestigious citation

Which results in a job after graduation.

Everyone claps. I think perhaps

This professor cares more than I thought

And that's just one more lesson that he taught.

It goes to show, if you learn, you'll know.

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.