Poets logo

Tune to Myself

for myself and others

By Brenton FPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
6

i hummed a tune quietly to myself

a lilting jilting tilting tune i’d never heard

i turned it over and around inside my head

thinking how i could adapt it with a word (or two)

the words came quickly to me this day

like a poorly wrapped fever in a torrent

so mesmerisingly desperate

needy ready repulsive and abhorrent

but when i picked up my guitar

the answers weren’t there

i was so sure this time

it felt so right in here inside my head

instead i found something simple and different

something that don’t give a solitary fuck at all

my amp tubes didn’t crackles or pop

baby wah bliss the sound the noise the wall

i played until my fingers hurt and a bit

until my Mrs. told me turn it down

i immediately quickly, hastily complied

she’s one lady i don’t fuck around

so this really then this could be her tune

could be mine could be ours could be hers

you picked a funny time to leave me loose wheel

watch as this gets bad then goes to worse

watch it disintegrate in into a thousand fiery pieces

each piece a separate hell; to be hated, to be loved

each piece slow cartwheeling to its own conclusion

it is what it is and all it is no help no hands no above

i hum my tunes to myself, just myself

that’s where they stay where they’re mine

no one else needs to hear my noise

they just need to know i’m fine

social commentarysurreal poetry
6

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    Wonderfully written piece by a brilliant writer ✍️🫵🏾💯🫶🏾‼️

  • As long as we don't dance to anyone's tune, I guess that's okay. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.