Poets logo

True War

A lone flag

By Jasper WolfPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1

Your arms wrap all over me

Just the idea of your love is what is warm to me

My face on your body

Your skin on my skin

The kiss that I miss.

I feel your soul

I feel my soul mate with your soul

I give you my all

I love you so much.

I hear the rain

The pit pat on the sill

I turn to look at you

You are gone.

You have been gone.

It's so cold.

I wait for you

But I know you won't come back.

Damn You! I grew old all on my own!

How dare you die?!

I need you!

I just sit here day by day. The kids try to talk to me, but I just rest.

They have kids you won't ever know.

I just sit and keep an eye on them.

They play and I see you in my past with ours

You love to play and joke

Then you had to go

Damn that War.

They pull your date

Then you go away

You died.

All I have left is a Flag.

Your Ash is part of the tree out back.

I look down at my old ring

The ring you hid in a rose.

You got down on one knee

I said yes.

God help me

Vows are vows.

I held your hand that day and said I do.

I do and will stay true.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Jasper Wolf

Founder/Owner of Howling Wolf Freelance Writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.