Poets logo

True Love

Don't Let Others Keep You Apart

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10
True Love
Photo by Jiroe on Unsplash

Ever since I was a child

I dreamed a dream of you

But I didn’t know it then

Real dreams can come true

***

You were my best friend

A love that I held dear

But I couldn’t voice that love

Because you were another girl

***

All my friends were boys I fear

That’s the way it had to appear

But I could love you from afar

Not when others were near

***

I feel ashamed to say

I let others dictate my life

I listened too intently to them

When they advised ‘tween wrong and right

***

My heart ached for you

Whilst I was living someone else’s life

And It broke my heart to break your heart

Whilst wishing you could be my wife

***

You are too good for me

You were then and still are now

You were always honest with your love

Standing tall and proud

***

It took me half my life

To realise you were right

I needed to live as my heart saw fit

With our love in the spotlight

***

Ever since I was a child

I dreamed a dream of you

And I couldn’t believe my luck

When you said you loved me too

***

We could have been together

As childhood sweethearts

But because of me, my love

This is where our true love starts

***

My advice to others

In such a predicament as ours

Follow your heart if it’s safe to do so

Don’t let others keep you apart

love poems
10

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.