Poets logo

True Grit

Beach Encounter

By Jennifer TruePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
True Grit
Photo by Atanas Teodosiev on Unsplash

As

I'm

walking

the

beach

sand

is

heating

the

bottoms

of

my

feet

and

toes

as

the

warm

wind

blows

through

my

hair

lying

down

on

my

towel

I

get

comfy

while

thinking

the

ocean

really

is

something…

the

next

thing

I

know

a

cold

wet

nose

is

nudging

me

I

have

dozed

off

in

the

sun

apparently

gleefully

I

embrace

the

sweet

mutt

that’s

licking

me

unintentionally

I’m

being

a

bit

of

a

slut

as

I

forget

that

my

bikini

top

is

off

that’s

when

I

meet

the

owner

of

the

Weimaraner

at

the

end

of

the

leash

sheesh

he’s

kind

of

cute

although

a

bit

mute

at

least

at

the

moment

in

a

bit

he

sits

and

I

find

out

he

loves

women

with

hair

blown

messed

up

by

the

wind

covered

in

sand

and

sunscreen

lotion

that

don’t

mind

a

little

commotion

caused

by

his

happy

dog

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer True

Hello,

I was living in a remote cabin when covid-19 lockdown hit. I began writing a poem every day as a writing project and have continued on from there. Thank you so much for reading my work and for your feedback.

Cheers!

Jennifer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.