Poets logo

True Colors

Of my Skin

By Himmet KazakPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Different Colors of our Skin

With my fingers I brush my auburn hair back

Just to watch a strand stray from the pack.

I like my hair, it signifies my growth

From adolescent to adult, to love and to loathe,

But younger me would’ve told you a different tale,

One that is full of me just stepping on scales.

I’d flatten my flesh, hiding it from view yet again

And envision what I’d look like if I were tan,

Holding out for the summer season

So I can hide my body, for no good reason .

The adult me however knows the pain of the past

Evolving from black and white to color and contrast .

He appreciates every nick and bruise that led to bleeding ;

Every bump along the road that helped him believe in

Not only himself but the kindness and truth of others ,

So he could one day find the man who’s more than just a lover

For the heat of the cruel cold night

And instead, be a lover for life.

I’ll allow him to run his fingers over my summertime skin

And feel his appreciation for my winter-worn sins .

The scars on my neck and stomach

Won’t cause my heart to plummet

Because instead of looking away in disgust

He’ll smile and I’ll shudder at his touch.

Yes, the me of today is many adjectives

But one I use most is multifaceted .

In terms of looks, beliefs and inner self

The colors of the rainbow, heaven and hell

And for those who can relate or understand

Your day will come when you stretch out your hand

And the person who ends up reaching back

Will love you regardless of what you feel you may lack.

You are Rome, not built in a day

But a person of importance, meant ever to stay.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.