Poets logo

Tribute to Parents

A Poem

By Eris NyxPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Tribute to Parents
Photo by American Heritage Chocolate on Unsplash

I have a well-endowed to do list,

An ever-growing list of many items,

I'll trim it here and there, of course,

Yet, it seems to just make it grow evermore,

A never-ending cycle this list creates,

Anxiety sets in due to this accursed item,

So much to do, so little time.

The laundry was just done,

I just finished putting it away,

The basket left behind bloomed,

Like a pesky weed that just won't die,

The laundry pile grows and grows,

There must be gardeners tending it,

So much to do, so little time.

Sink drained now, I smile,

Meal eaten and dishes are done,

Perhaps I can sit and relax now,

With a dish towel, I wipe down,

Mildew on counters, I will not condone,

From the corner of my eye, the dishes multiplied,

So much to do, so little time.

I pull out freshly baked cookies,

The aroma permeating the air,

The bait is laid and the trap set,

For my housework's multiplying force,

Footsteps swarm and hands reach out,

I intercept with a chore chart,

So much to do, so little time.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Eris Nyx

Writer, poet, and avid reader. She/her pronouns. Proud cat mom. Lover of tea, games, and shoddy disaster films.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.