Poets logo

Treasure

Flash fiction to bring the light back

By Sandra Tena ColePublished 2 years ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
4
Manchester Library - photo by the author

Sevilla walked along the isles of the library. The book she was looking for was there, she knew it. Every clue had brought her to that place.

A delicate rain played her song over the glass panels. I have to find the book, finding it means my independence.

Something pulled her to the right. She had glimpsed a title in golden letters. Her heart leapt out of her chest.

She pulled the book out as if it were the most precious object in the world. She read the title once, twice.

She couldn’t believe it.

She had it.

She held in her hands the Gospel of Light.

~*~

Thank you for reading my poetic prose flash fiction (or *was it* a fiction?).

Treasure was shortlisted in the competition Voces sin Fronteras II, Canada 2012, and published in the anthology of the same name by Alondras Editions. It is also part of my short story collection Tales from the Rooftop, which you can order in the bottom link, as well as my paranormal crime thriller Wideawake.

If you'd like to read more, head over to my profile to read all kinds of pieces I've written on various subjects, or click on the links below for just my poetry or just my fiction.

A heart, a tip, a comment or your insights would also be much appreciated, if you feel so inclined. Also, please feel free to share my story with anyone who you think might enjoy it.

Sandra's poetic pieces on Vocal

Sandra's fiction pieces on Vocal

Buy Tales from the Rooftop or Wideawake here

performance poetry
4

About the Creator

Sandra Tena Cole

Actress, Model, Writer

Co-producer at His & Hers Theatre Company

Esoteric Practitioner

Idealist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Beautiful 😍

  • Pauline Fountainabout a year ago

    I’m looking forward to writing something for this challenge having never exploring this genre before. Yours is the first entry I have read. I’m reading it on my iPhone and I was anticipating the one scroll past ‘the hook.’ Loved it! (Hearted)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.