Poets logo

Trauma

Comfort

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am in love with the idea of Paris in fall,

A small village, the sky is tinted in orange and gray,

I am sipping on that fall air, forgetting the old hot sun that beat down on me too long

And made me feel like a small child again.

Today is the first day of fall. We felt it today in that bit of chill, didn’t we?

I feel myself morph in fall

I’m sinking into my old, plaintive heart, a skipping that feels like a virile stone set across a deep river that hides something deep, a female voice that floats up

But as the masculine stone skips passively in a way that still feels harsh and intrusive, it still sinks down. A

Drowning that I cannot die from.

I had to once hide from the question of how I would die, or when,

But now I see that it doesn’t matter

Because that one fall day in Paris will be waiting for me

Haunting my eyes. The river has become shallow

Dried

And petrified

Like Jonas at the end of the snow covered hill, hearing that long forgotten music with the endless lights,

I find comfort at the same idea.

***

Author note: the reference of Jonas with the long forgotten music is directly from The Giver by Lois Lowry. I resonate with his character very much.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.