Poets logo

Trash Art & Crusty Feelings

"Creativity is making marvelous out of the discarded" -pinterest

By Roya Weiss-WeinbergPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
a terrible canva collage from a millennial who grew up with kidpix

I sit at my desk

with pens in clif bar boxes

and books with overflowing bookmarks

and seven more notebooks than I need

This pen will change the world

Unopened notecards already

filled in my mind,

Crusty glue bottles

and old projects

and magazines

and grocery lists

and that jar of buttons from the dollar store

and

This pen will change the world

I save jars and boxes

and paper towel rolls

and scraps

and beads

and trinkets

and things

but when my heart is heavy, these things are not fun, they are baggage

when i see myself from a place of my fears,

all the objects i collected to protect me

feel like too much and the days bleed

one into the next but

This pen will change the world

art
1

About the Creator

Roya Weiss-Weinberg

writer, poet, artist, libra

lover of cats, bagels, sunshine, mental health

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.