Poets logo

Trapped Souls

The Reoccurring Dream.

By Stephanie DownardPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Stephanie Downard.

I'm young, sweet, and curious.

I walk around my grandmother's house,

But things are different.

It looks foreign and out of place.

Something is drawing me upstairs.

An attic once filled with boxes and old tickets,

It is now open and empty.

The windows are so large,

You can see the entire countryside.

On the wall is a small door.

The urge to go inside is tempting.

I can not resist,

So I pull it open.

It's dark but spellbinding.

I step inside.

The air is cold and damp.

The cement walls feel frigid.

Doors surround me from the floor to the ceiling,

With no way to reach the ones above.

Slowly I walk down the concrete halls.

I hear cries for help echo in the air.

Fear fills me to the brim.

Ghostly children loom from the dark.

I'm frozen as I watch them glide over me.

Don't be afraid, but you can not stay, they say.

Their souls are trapped.

A monster keeps the children here.

His sinister presence creeps closer.

I know I need to set them free.

We move quickly through the gray prison.

Faster and faster.

Closer and closer,

The devilish cloud is tailing behind us.

A translucent child halts behind me.

I reach for her.

With one touch, her soul is free.

The enchanting glow ascends above us.

I feel the fury of shadow rage with anger.

One by one,

I swiftly release their souls.

My heart races as I try to unite with everyone.

The monster is nearing with haste.

He's inches away.

Terror encroaches with each passing second.

The last soul glides, and we connect.

The black cloud disappears with the last light.

A small door opens in front of me.

I see the glow on the other side.

I step through.

I feel the warmth of the empty attic.

The sun radiates all around me.

I look at the countryside through the windows.

A big tree sways gently in the wind.

I awaken,

Knowing this dream will come again.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Stephanie Downard

I'm a mom of 3 plus a bonus son. I've discovered I love writing, and in my free time, that's what I do! I may not be the best, but that will not stop me! It can only go up from here! I hope you enjoy the words that trickle out of my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.